Home / About / Archives / 2019 / 2019 Programme / index 2019
Gwen, le Livre de sable

Annecy Classics: Gwen, the Book of Sand

  1. Overview
  2. Description
  3. Speakers
  4. Fact Sheet

Jean-François Laguionie’s first feature film, a timeless masterpiece to watch over and over again.

At this year’s Festival, enjoy a restored version of Jean-François Laguionie’s very first feature-length animated film, Gwen, the Book of Sand, 34 years after it was part of the Official Selection. Made entirely using paper cutout animation, this film hurtles viewers into a post-apocalyptic desert world alongside Gwen, the nomadic tribe that she lives with, and the mysterious entity wandering somewhere out there. When one of Gwen’s friends is kidnapped by the entity, her incredible journey into the unknown begins.

A timeless fantasy, full of poetry and mystery, to watch once, twice, or until your heart’s content.

With Annecy Classics, the Festival pays tribute to timeless shorts and features to remind us of the great moments in the history of animation. It highlights avant-garde techniques, the journey of brilliant directors, and celebrates key events. Take a break and rediscover the great animated classics!

Download the PDF file


  • Jean-François LAGUIONIE
    Jean-François LAGUIONIE

  • Nicole DUFOUR
    Nicole DUFOUR

  • Bernard PALACIOS
    Bernard PALACIOS

The film

  • Film identity

    Original title: Gwen, le Livre de sable

    Directed by: Jean-François LAGUIONIE

    Country: France

    Year of production: 1984

    Running time: 01 h 07 min

  • Technique

    Category: Feature film

    Techniques used: drawing on cels, cut-outs

    Version: Version originale française

    Process: Colour

    Target public: All audiences

  • Credits

    Directed by: Jean-François LAGUIONIE


    Artistic direction: Jean-François Laguionie

    Script: Jean-François Laguionie, Jean-Paul Gaspari

    Sets: Bernard Palacios

    Animation: Claude Luyet, Henri Heidsieck

    Camera: Pierre Darlot

    Music: Pierre Alrand

    Sound: Paul Bertault

    Editing: Hélène Arnal

    Voice: Michel Robin, Lorella Di Cicco