Home / About / Archives / 2013 / Festival 2013 / 2013 Juries

  2013 Juries

2013 Juries
  1. Feature films
  2. Short films
  3. TV and commissioned films
  4. Graduation films
  5. Fipresci jury
  6. Junior juries


The jury members have the delicate task of choosing among the competing films and awarding 18 official prizes, including the Cristal for short films and the Cristal for feature films.

Check out the jury members for Annecy 2013.

Feature films

  • Didier Brunner
    Didier Brunner

    Les Armateurs


    In 1994, Didier Brunner founded the film company, Les Armateurs which has produced the successful films Kirikou and the Sorceress (1998), Belleville Rendez-Vous (2003), Kirikou and the Wild Beast (2005), Vos papiers ! (2006), The Secret of Kells (2009), Kill Me Please and Allez raconte ! (2010).
    He also produced Kirikou and Men and Women (2012) and Ernest & Célestine (2012)

  • Brian Miller
    Brian Miller

    Senior Vice President and General Manager
    Cartoon Network Studios


    Senior Vice President and General Manager of Cartoon Network Studios, Brian Miller oversees the production of programming including Adventure Time, Regular Show and Ben 10.
    He was previously Vice President at Nickelodeon's Nicktoons Animation Studio on such series as SpongeBob SquarePants, Dora the Explorer and the Oh Yeah! Cartoons.

  • Robert Morgan
    Robert Morgan



    BAFTA-nominated filmmaker, Robert Morgan works in both stop motion animation and live action.
    He has made a number of highly acclaimed award-winning shorts, including The Cat With Hands, The Separation and Bobby Yeah and his work was rewarded with the Arts Foundation Award for Animation in 2012. He also teaches Animation at the University of Westminster, London.


Short films

  • Jerzy KUCIA
    Jerzy Kucia



    Born in Poland in 1942, Jerzy Kucia has created a considerable body of work over the last 40 years, showing a preoccupation for musical structures from his debut short film The Return (Powrót, 1972).
    Since 1980, he has managed the Academy of Fine Arts of Krakov animation department. As part of a strongly lyrical oeuvre based on minimal storylines, his films express a both cultivated and instinctive singular world view.
    He is receiving the Special Cristal Award at Annecy in 2013 to highlight the importance of his masterful contribution.

    Read the press release

  • Bill Kroyer
    Bill Kroyer



    Bill Kroyer is an animation and CG director of commercials, shorts, features and film titles and was one of the first animators to combine hand-drawn animation with CGI in 1982. His Oscar nominated short Technological Threat (1988) won the Apollo Award at Annecy 1989.
    He is also a Professor serving as Director of Digital Arts at the Dodge College of Film and Media Arts at Chapman University in Orange, California.

  • Robert Marcel Lepage
    Robert Marcel Lepage



    Robert Marcel Lepage has been part of the Quebec music scene for the past 25 years and has composed the scores for such animated films as Pierre Hébert's La Plante humaine, many TV series including Kitou Scrogneugneu, Allez Raconte ! and Belphégor as well as documentary films.
    He also has 11 CDs to his name, hundreds of soundtracks, the learning manual Le Robert illustré de la clarinette and a book of illustrated philosophical thoughts Le Piano de neige.

    For latest news, check out the Robert Marcel Lepage.


TV and commissioned films

  • Morgann Favennec
    Morgann Favennec

    Deputy Managing Director responsible for acquisitions and international sales


    Morgann Favennec has been Deputy Managing Director responsible for acquisitions and international sales for Superights since May 2013. Before that, she was the Head of Children's programmes for the Métropole Télévision group (M6), that she had joined in 2006.

    She also worked as Acquisitions Manager at Walt Disney Television for The Walt Disney Company, following on at Jetix.

  • Carolina López Caballero
    Carolina López Caballero

    Director of the Animac Festival and Xcèntric cinema


    After a successful career debut, working with MTV and later the animation channel Locomotion TV, Carolina López Caballero created and was the director of Anima't, the animation section of the Sitges International Film Festival of Catalonia for 10 years. She is currently working on a project about the works of Ladislas Starewitch, Jan Švankmajer and the Quay brothers, which will be presented at the Contemporary Cultural Centre of Barcelona (CCCB) in the spring of 2014.

  • Harry Yoon
    Harry Yoon

    Vice President
    SAMG Animation


    Harry Yoon manages licensing and development at SAMG Animation Studios where he has co-produced My Giant Friend, Monk, Bugged and Fish n' Chips.
    He has also worked on such series as Maskman and Monya for which he has been rewarded on several occasions.


Graduation films

  • Phil Davies
    Phil Davies



    Phil Davies is based in London at Astley Baker Davies Ltd, where he collaborates with Animation Directors, Neville Astley and Mark Baker. Their company produces the hit series Ben and Holly’s Little Kingdom and Peppa Pig, which won BAFTAs in 2005, 2011 and 2012. The series was also awarded the TV Cristal award at Annecy 2005, the Best Pre-School Animation prize at the British Animation awards in 2006, and has been nominated a total of 11 times for children’s BAFTAs.

    Since the creation of the production company in the 1980's, Phil has produced numerous animated films, won 6 BAFTA awards and was nominated for 9 others.

  • Michaela Pavlátová
    Michaela Pavlátová



    Michaela Pavlátová is an animation director from the Czech Republic. She teaches animation abroad (San Francisco, Harvard) as well as in her home town Prague (VŠUP, FAMU).
    In her films, she deals mostly with relationships between people using ironic, black humour. Her films have received numerous awards at international film festivals, including an Oscar nomination for Words, Words, Words (1991).
    Her last film Tram won the Annecy Cristal in 2012.

  • Heilika Pikkov
    Heilika Pikkov

    Curator, Festival Organiser


    Heilika Pikkov promotes the animation industry in Estonia as a exhibition curator and festival organiser. For 8 years she was the manager and programmer of the Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival's animation festival Animated Dreams and was also programme director of the networking platform and training event AnimaCampus Tallinn. She is currently putting the finishing touches to her first feature film.


Fipresci jury

  • Katharina DOCKHORN
    Katharina Dockhorn


    Katharina Dockhorn has been working as a freelance journalist for TV stations, newspapers and trade magazines for over 20 years. She has been a member of the jury for Deutsche Film- und Medienbewertung (FBW) in Wiesbaden and has sat on the Funding Board of the DEFA Foundation.

  • Guilia Dobre


    Giulia Dobre is a scripwriter and visual anthropologist as well as film critic for the Romanian National Radio.

  • Marcin Gizycki


    Marcin Gizycki is a film historian, art critic and director. Artistic Director for Animator, the International Animation Film Festival in Poznań (Poland), he is also a teacher and lecturer.



Junior Jury

This year, 4 young Serbes from the Media Education Centre animation workshop are joining 4 youngsters from the Atelier de cinéma d’animation d’Annecy et de Haute-Savoie (aaa).

The juries

  • Short films:
    (10/12 years)

    • Marie Franco, 11 yrs, aaa
    • Maxime Lyonnaz, 10 yrs, aaa
    • Julija Vuletic, 11 yrs, Media Education Centre
    • Isidora Gocmanac, 12 yrs, Media Education Centre
  • Graduation films:
    (13/15 years)

    • Louis Lagache, 15 yrs, aaa
    • Nicéphore Ibanez, 13 yrs, aaa
    • Natalija Simovic, 13 yrs, Media Education Centre
    • Zvezdana Zorana Bozovic, 13 yrs, Media Education Centre